The Young and The Restless

LA LA LAND from | Yero | on Vimeo.

It’s that time of year again when a new batch of designers lands in the real world. I’ve been told that approximately 30,000 design students graduate each year and enter the market. This sounds terrifying but shouldn’t be. The reality, as in most of life, is that the cream will rise to the top. Out of that huge number, there is a much smaller group dedicated and really talented designers. I was worried as I approached graduation. Lorraine Wild gave me this advice, “if you’re good, willing to work hard, and keep learning, you’ll do well. Nobody good slips through the cracks.” It turns out that this was true; short of those people I know who self-destructed by smoking pot all day.

Here, then, is a slate of amazing designers who graduated last Saturday from Art Center. I know each of them, and can vouch not just for their abilities, but also for their dedication and willingness to work.

However, just to make this clear, I am not an employment service. The last time I posted a group of grads, one of them sent me an email clarifying that she would only work in Los Angeles or San Francisco and would not accept less than $50,000 salary. To this I sent a simple reply, “Not my problem.” Yes, I too can be mean.

 

Josh Finklea - http://joshfinklea.info Teodros Hailye - http://teodros.tv Tyler Hamilton - http://www.tylerhamiltondesign.com/#!home|mainPage Ben Hickman - http://benhickmandesign.com James Ihira - http://cargocollective.com/jamesihira Kevin Lam - http://kevinclam.com Scott Langer - http://work.scottlanger.com Chanmi Grace Lee - http://chanmigrace.info Chul Lee - http://chulgrafik.com Christian Morin - http://mdistrict.net Tomo Ogino - http://tomoogino.com Aldis Ozolins - http://aldisozolins.com Yerem Tagvoryan - http://yero.tv

 

Ominbus Film Festival from chul lee on Vimeo.

 

SyFy Summer Identity from T on Vimeo.